Beyoncé releases surprise new album on i-Tunes

  • Getty

Out of the blue Beyoncé announced the release of her fifth solo album, available exclusively to i-Tunes users.

The album, dubbed “the visual album” is made up of 14 songs and 17 videos.

The 14 songs feature a host of high levels collaborations, from the likes of Jay Z, Drake, Frank Ocean, Pharrell Williams, Timbaland, Michelle Williams, Kelly Rowland, Justin Timberlake, Blue Ivy, The-Dream, Sia, Miguel, Hit-Boy, Caroline Polachek and Noah “40″ Shebib. Even little Blue Ivy, Beyoncé and Jay Z's daughter, stars in one of the tracks.

The 17 videos, released together with the songs in the surprise project, are the works of hyped up directors such as Jonas Akerlund, Hype Williams, @lilinternet, and Terry Richardson.

For the moment, it is only possible to watch the previews of the 17 videos, while songs will be available for individual purchace from 20 December. Also, the double CD/DVD from Columbia Records is hitting the shelves before Christmas.

At the press release, Beyoncé declared that the project is dedicated entirely to her fans:

"I didn’t want to release my music the way I’ve done it. I am bored with that. I feel like I am able to speak directly to my fans," she said, "I just want to give my album to the people I love and respect and hope that they feel the same thing I felt when I made the music.”

She also explained the relation between music and images in the way she experiences it:

“I see music!”, she said. And added: “It’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.”

Listen to Beyoncé new album and watch the video previews here!

This is the full tracklist of the visual album:

  1. 01. “Pretty Hurts”
  2. 02. “Haunted”
  3. 03. “Drunk In Love” (Featuring JAY Z)
  4. 04. “Blow”/”Cherry”
  5. 05. “Angel”
  6. 06. “Yoncé”/”Partition”
  7. 07. “Jealous”
  8. 08. “Rocket”
  9. 09. “Mine” (Featuring Drake)
  10. 10. “XO”
  11. 11. “Flawless” (Featuring Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
  12. 12. “Superpower” (Featuring Frank Ocean)
  13. 13. “Heaven”
  14. 14. “Blue” (Featuring Blue Ivy)

And the videos:

  1. 01. “Pretty Hurts” – directed by Melina Matsoukas
  2. 02. “Ghost” – directed by Pierre Debusschere
  3. 03. “Haunted” – directed by Jonas Åkerlund
  4. 04. “Drunk In Love” – directed by Hype Williams
  5. 05. “Blow” – directed by Hype Williams
  6. 06. “Angel” – directed by@lilinternet
  7. 07. “Yoncé” – directed by Ricky Saiz
  8. 08. “Partition” – directed by Jake Nava
  9. 09. “Jealous” – directed by Beyoncé, Francesco Carrozzini & Todd Tourso
  10. 10. “Rocket” – directed by Beyoncé, Ed Burke & Bill Kirstein
  11. 11 .”Mine” – directed by Pierre Debusschere
  12. 12. “XO” – directed by Terry Richardson
  13. 13. “Flawless” – directed by Jake Nava
  14. 14. “Superpower” – directed by Jonas Åkerlund
  15. 15. “Heaven” -directed by Beyoncé & Todd Tourso
  16. 16. “Blue” – directed by Beyoncé, Ed Burke & Bill Kirstein
  17. 17. BONUS VIDEO – “Grown Woman” – directed by Jake Nava

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022