MTV VMAs 2014: All the winners, best moments and a surprise Robin Williams tribute

  • Getty Images

Beyonce stole the show at the 2014 MTV VMAs with a powerhouse and gruelling 15 minute performance that finished the show on the ultimate high. The undisputed Queen of the music world managed to get through a whopping 14 song medley showcasing everything good on her current album.

Taylor Swift gave an energetic performance when rolling out her new song Shake It Off leaving all her country roots firmly in the past. And a tribute to Robin Williams was weirdly interjected into the middle of the awards show when random pictures of the late Williams were smattered all over the big screen without any warning whatsoever.

Nicki Minaj almost grabbed all the headlines when during her curtain raising performance she had a wardrobe malfunction which threatened to reveal all to onlooking fans. Minaj just about managed to keep her modesty intact while performing a rousing rendition of new track Anaconda. Drama ensued during the VMA rehearsals for one of Minaj's backing dancers when she suffered a bite from a boa constrictor who was part of the dance routine for the show. Thankfully her injuries were not life threatening although the incident ensured last night's performance featured zero snakes.

Notable award winners on the night included Best Rock going to Lorde, Best Collaboration for Beyonce and Jay Z on Drunk in Love and a shock win for Miley Cyrus in the Best Music Video category for her Wrecking Ball performance.

PHOTO GALLERY: MTV VMA's 2014 red carpet: Miley Cyrus, Jennifer Lopez, Taylor Swift ...

As a stark reminder as to how time and tide wait for no man, it has already been a full year since Miley Cyrus shocked the world at the 2013 VMAs twerking mad in front of a visibly surprised Robin Thicke. You would imagine then that it would take something monumental this year to garner as much attention as a grown up Hannah Montana and it turned out to be an impossible act to top.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022