Russia through to Eurovision 2014 Final with chorus of boos

  • Getty Images

The first semi final of Eurovision 2014 saw Russia and Ukraine both advance to the final which will take place in Copenhagen on Saturday.

However, once the announcement was made that Russia, represented by the 17 year old Tolmachevy twins, the audience fiercely booed the decision. The reaction is believed to be a response to Vladimir Putin's actions in Ukraine as well as his fiercely homophobic beliefs.

Ukraine also advanced to Saturday's final with a strong performance from Mariya Yaremchuk. Montenegro and San Marino both made history when it was announced that they would be in the final for the first time in their history.

10 countries qualified in all last night with Sweden, Azerbaijan, Hungary, Iceland, The Netherlands and Armenia qualifying alongside the other 4. The UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Denmark, as the host nation, have already secured their places in Saturday nights main event thanks to their performances in last years Eurovision final.

VIDEO: Eurovision 2014 songs

This years competition is set to be a hotly contested one with some very strong songs on show. Russia are not expected to be competitive though despite having a decent entry thanks to the political turmoil taking place in Ukraine presently.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022