The Smashing Pumpkins to release two albums for 2015

  • getty images

The Smashing Pumpkins will be releasing two new albums in 2015 after signing a new recording deal with Sony Music's BMG label.

Smashing Pumpkin’s frontman Billy Corgan announced the news via the band’s website on Tuesday, March 25.

The albums already have titles: ‘Monuments to an Elegy’ and ‘Day for Night’ that will be produced by Howard Willing, who worked with the band on their 1998 album, 'Adore'.

The band has already started recording sessions, as the most of the songs for the two albums have already been written, and a single is expected to be released by the end of the year .

"For those interested in sound, think: 'guitars, guitars, guitars, and more guitars, more so on the epic side of things than, say, grossly metallic," wrote Corgan.

The band will update fans on the progress of the records regularly via their new and revamped website called The Panopticon.

'Additionally, this stands as the initial post on a new nexus: The Panopticon, which through its simplicity should better address the speed of modern life. A continuing feature, items regarding each day's recording will be shared that same evening, with song titles, lyrics, poetic impressions, pictures, sound clips, studio gear and the like offered for a circuitous, bird's eye view of the process as it unfolds,' Corgan also added.

The Smashing Pumpkins haven't released a new LP since their album Oceania in 2012, though Corgan announced on Twitter about a year ago that he'd begun writing songs for the follow-up.

The band reissued their Diamond-certified landmark double album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness last year, and Corgan recently hosted an eight-hour electronic jam set at Madame ZuZu’s Teahouse that was inspired by Herman Hesse's novel Siddhartha.

The Smashing Pumpkins members are currently: Corgan, drummer Mike Byrne, bassist Nicole Fiorentino, and guitarist Jeff Schroeder.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2021